The Gerald Averay Wainwright Near Eastern Archaeological Fund

The Board of Management for the Wainwright Fund awards grants for archaeological research, “at its absolute discretion, for the furtherance of the study of the archaeology of the Near East”.

The intention of the donor was “to encourage the study of the non-classical archaeology and general history as deduced from comparative archaeology (archaeology being taken to mean the study of the objects as a science in itself, hence excluding language, literature or philology) of the following countries (hereinafter called the Near East): Asia Minor, Armenia, Caucasia, Persia, Mesopotamia, Syria, Palestine, Egypt, Arabia, Abyssinia, the Sudan to West Africa, the Sahara, Cyrenaica, Tripoli and its islands, Algeria, Morocco, with preference being given to the first nine.”